Welcome to Delaware

Delaware is a state located in the Northeastern region of the United States it took it´s name from Virginia’s first colonial governor an English nobleman named Thomas West, Lord De La Warr. Delaware was one of the 13 colonies participating in the American Revolution and became the first state to ratify the Constitution of the United States that is why the nickname of Delaware is “The First State”. Delaware is the second smallest state of all 50 United States, only Rhode Island is smaller. The capital city in Delaware is Dover and the largest city is Wilmington. Delaware is bordering to New Jersey in the north east, Maryland in the west and south,
and Pennsylvania in the north. Delaware has the lowest number of counties of any state divided into the three counties New Castle, Kent and Sussex.
Delaware is on a level plain, with the lowest mean elevation of any state in the nation.
Delaware is a part of the Atlantic coastal plain and the effects of the ocean moderate its climate. Although the Delaware state is so small there is a significant variation in temperature but usually there is hot and humid summers and mild winters.
Delaware’s agricultural output consists of nursery stock, poultry, soybeans, corn and dairy products. Both Finance and insurance sectors have made a major contribution to the economy of Delaware by generating more income and employment since 1990s.
Delaware offers a lot to see and do like miles of pristine beaches, coastal towns, tax-free shopping at Delaware beach boutiques and galleries and much more. Start exploring Delawere now.

Cities in Delaware





Location of Delaware

Quick facts about Delaware

  • Nickname: The First State
  • Capital city: Dover
  • Largest city: Wilmington
  • Area: 1,982 sq mi (5,130 km²) (Ranked 49th of 50)
  • Population: Est, 952 065 (Ranked 45th of 50) 2016
  • Highest point: Near the Ebright Azimuth
  • Lowest point: Atlantic Ocean sea level
  • Latitude: 38° 27′ N to 39° 50′ N
  • Longitude: 75° 3′ W to 75° 47′ W
  • Bordering states: Maryland, Pennsylvania, New Jersey

Delaware flag